Official website of His Majesty King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein
Oath of Office

In order to assume constitutional authority, every cabinet official, including the prime minister, takes the oath of office before the reigning King in a swearing-in ceremony. This political rite is specified by Article 43 of the Constitution.

The swearing-in of a cabinet takes place on either of two occasions: when the reigning monarch appoints a new prime minister, who in turn appoints a cabinet, or when a sitting prime minister reshuffles a government, during which the prime minister may relieve some ministers from duty and appoint new ministers in their place or reassign ministers to new posts within a cabinet.

Swearing-in ceremonies commonly take place in the Throne Hall in Raghadan Palace. Standing before the reigning monarch, and with the right hand on the Quran or the Bible a new cabinet member recites the oath of office as follows: “I swear by the Almighty God to be loyal to the King, uphold the Constitution, serve the nation and conscientiously perform the duties entrusted to me.” Royal Family members and High-ranking court officials also attend the ceremony to witness the oath.