Official website of His Majesty King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein
Press Room
News Room

News Release
Media & Communication Directorate
Royal Hashemite Court (Jordan)

Royal decree approves new cabinet
Amman, 30 March 2013

A royal decree was issued on Saturday approving the new 19-member government of Prime Minister Abdullah Ensour.

The premier and ministers took the oath of office before His Majesty King Abdullah at a Royal Court ceremony attended by the royal court chief, a number of Royal Family members, the director of His Majesty’s Office and a number of advisors.

The decree, citing Article 35 of the Constitution, said that, based on Ensour’s earlier resignation and upon his recommendation, "We, Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein, King of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, hereby order the appointment of the following:

  1. Dr. Abdullah Ensour, Prime Minister and Minister of Defence
  2. Dr. Amin Mahmoud, Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research
  3. Mr. Nasser Judeh, Minister of Foreign and Expatriates Affairs
  4. Mr. Hussein Majali, Minister of Interior and Minister of Municipal Affairs
  5. Dr. Mohammad Wahsh, Minister of Education
  6. Dr. Hatem Halawani, Minister of Industry, Trade and Supply and Minister of Communications and Information Technology
  7. Dr. Hazem Nasser, Minister of Water and Irrigation and Minister of Agriculture
  8. Dr. Umayya Toukan, Minister of Finance
  9. Dr. Khleef Al Khawaldeh, Minister of Public Sector Development
  10. Dr. Mohammad Qudah, Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs
  11. Dr. Nidal Katamine, Minister of Labour and Minister of Transport
  12. Dr. Ahmad Ziadat,  Minister of Justice and Minister of State for Prime Ministry Affairs
  13. Mr. Walid Masri, Minister of Public Works and Housing
  14. Dr. Ibrahim Saif, Minister of Planning and International Cooperation and Minister of Tourism and Antiquities
  15. Dr. Mohammad Momani, Minister of State for Media Affairs and Minister of Political and Parliamentary Affairs
  16. Mrs. Reem Abu Hassan, Minister of Social Development
  17. Dr. Mujalli Mhailan, Minister of Health and Minister of Environment
  18. Mr. Malek Kabariti, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources
  19. Dr. Barakat Awajan, Minister of Culture.”

In his government's reply to the King's Letter of Designation, Ensour said the ministerial team will be guided by the set of principles and visions set out in His Majesty’s Letter of Designation, Speech from the Throne and Discussion Papers. The government pledged to crystallize a comprehensive, long-term work programme in partnership with the legislative authority.

The government will seek the confidence of the Lower House in order to be able to translate its programme into action to serve citizens, Ensour said. He added that his cabinet will cooperate with the legislative authority to pass a number of priority laws including illicit gain, civil retirement, income tax, landlords and tenants, consumer protection, private-public sectors partnership, labour and social security.

On political reform, the premier said the government will maintain a participatory and integrative relationship with civil society organisations, political parties, trade unions and the media to develop legislation governing political life, namely elections and political parties laws.

Ensour pledged that his government will seek to promote a culture of public work based on transparency, accountability, justice and equal opportunities, vowing to step up the fight against corruption, nepotism and favouritism.

On the economy, the prime minister said the government will continue to embark on a program of economic and financial reform that prevents all forms of squandering of public funds, controls public expenditure and reduces the budget deficit.